Tag Archives: Brooklyn

Celebrate St. Patrick’s Day with ‘Brooklyn’, Best Picture Academy Award Nominated Film Starring Saoirse Ronan

For St. Patrick’s Day, celebrate Irish American culture and heritage with the Academy Award® Best Picture Nominee, Brooklyn, starring Saoirse Ronan!  The soundtrack features the acclaimed score by Michael Brook, Canadian Grammy®– and Golden Globe®-nominated composer, plus hear some traditional Irish music and some classic ’50s American tunes on the Various Artists album.  Watch our Brooklyn Playlist below and get a taste of a great Irish American story.

But aside from its lead and thoughtful direction, the movie’s ace-in-the-hole might be its lovely, plaintive music by composer Michael Brook – Rodrigo Perez, Indiewire

Fully lyrical with tasteful Irish-appropriate inflections, the score starts as it means to go on with the tender “Opening Titles”: a violin (performed by Brook’s wife) immediately establishes the Irish connection, accompanied by a wash of strings, a gentle piano melody, clarinet and mandolin. It conveys the essence of Eilis’ journey in a nutshell.  – mfiles

Soundtrack Available Now:

FOX SEARCHLIGHT PICTURES presents BROOKLYN, available now on Blu-ray/DVD (get it here) and Digital HD Download (get it on iTunes).



BAFTA Award Winning Film Brooklyn, On Vinyl! Michael Brook’s Score + The Soundtrack Available Now Through Lakeshore & Music On Vinyl


Brooklyn (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Michael Brook’s delightful score for the BAFTA Award winning Brooklyn (Outstanding British Film) is available now on vinyl through our partners Music On Vinyl, in a 2 x LP set which includes the films score and soundtrack.

Brook’s score and the films soundtrack serve as the perfect musical backdrop for Eilis (Saoirse Ronan) as she journeys into 1950s America. The initial shackles of homesickness quickly diminish as a fresh romance sweeps Eilis into the intoxicating charm of love. But soon, her new vivacity is disrupted by her past, and Eilis must choose between two countries and the lives that exist within.


Vinyl Details:
2 x Blue Vinyl LPs
180 gram audiophile vinyl
Gatefold sleeve
4-page insert
PVC protective sleeve
First pressing of 500 numbered copies on blue vinyl

Brooklyn (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Michael Brook // Various

1. Opening Titles
2. Packing For The Voyage
3. Seasick
4. Deck Discussion
5. Arriving In America
6. Eilis Starts Work
7. Homesick
8. Letter From Home
9. Bookkeeping Class
10. Casadh An Tsúgáin / Frankie’s Song – Iarla Ó Lionáird
11. Tony Asks Eilis Out
12. Letter To Home
13. Things Are Looking Up
14. Rose Dies
15. Mourning
16. Proposal
17. Getting Married
18. Rose’s Grave
19. The Pull Of Home
20. Tony’s Letter
21. Eilis Wavers
22. Confrontation
23. Goodbye Eilis
24. End Credits


1. Be Cool AKA Keep Cool
2. Boolavogue
3. The Yellow Rose of Texas
4. What’s It to You, Jack
5. The Stack of Barley
6. Castle Finn
7. Dynaflow
8. Zing a Little Zong
9. Five, Ten, Fifteen Hours
10. A Garden In the Rain
11. My Wild Irish Rose
12. Casadh an tSúgáin

Additional Information:

What’s New On Lakeshore Records: Mr. Robot, ‘Montage’ From Swiss Army Man, Central Intelligence + More


Lakeshore Records has released a bevy of incredible soundtracks this month so far, so here’s a handy list of albums you may have missed, out now!


Out Now Digitally:

“Montage” Single from Swiss Army Man (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack): get it here.

The single made Apple Music’s Best Of The Week list, charted to #6 on Spotify’s United States Viral 50 playlist, and #12 on Spotify’s Global Viral 50 list!  This is the song of the summer!  Read more about the single from Swiss Army Man (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) here.

Mr. Robot Volume 1 (Original Television Series Soundtrack): get it here
Mr. Robot Volume 2 (Original Television Series Soundtrack): get it here

Mr. Robot, the Golden Globe- and Peabody Award-winning TV series wouldn’t be the same without Mac Quayle’s unforgettable score!  Read our previous post about this two-volume soundtrack release here.


Central Intelligence (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack): get it here

Theodore Shapiro and Ludwig Göransson team up for Central Intelligence, the new buddy comedy starring Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart.  Learn more here.


Autism In Love (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack): get it here

Mac Quayle is an in-demand composer, and his atmospheric score for the documentary, Autism In Love is a simply beautiful score and the latest release on Lakeshore Records.  Learn more here.


Internet Famous (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack): get it here

YouTube star Shane Dawson, Community’s Wendy McColm, composer Raney Shockne and Skyler Felix come together on this soundtrack album for Internet Famous, the new mockumentary that follows Internet stars who compete for a TV show.  Learn more here.


Out Now on Vinyl:


Brooklyn Score + Various Artists Soundtrack LP: get it here

Read our previous post on Brooklyn (Original Motion Picture Score) here and the Various Artists Soundtrack here.


Out Now on CD:


Last Days In The Desert (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack): get it here

Read our previous post on Last Days In The Desert featuring score by Danny Bensi & Saunder Jurriaans here.

Out Now on Spotify:

“Montage” from Swiss Army Man (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack): follow playlist here


The Nice Guys (Original Motion Picture Score): follow playlist here


The Nice Guys (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack): follow playlist here


Central Intelligence (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack): follow playlist here


Autism In Love (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack): follow playlist here


PODCAST: An Interview With Michael Brook On His Score To Best Picture Academy Award Nominee ‘Brooklyn’ (Audio)


In 2015, Lakeshore Records sat down with Michael Brook, Canadian Grammy®- and Golden Globe®-nominated composer to talk about scoring Academy Award®-nominated film, Brooklyn! Michael is also known for his scores for Into The Wild (for which he received his Golden Globe® nomination), Jerusalem and recent Lakeshore Records release, Journey to Mecca, the IMAX/Giant Screen epic.

Listen now as our Composer Of The Month, Michael Brook, gives us a behind-the-scenes perspective of his acclaimed score!

Go to LakeshoreRecords.com to explore more of Michael Brook’s soundtrack releases!

Saoirse Ronan Stars In Academy Award Nominated ‘Brooklyn’ Now On Blu-ray/DVD, Own The Soundtrack!


Brooklyn, Academy Award® nominated- and BAFTA winning-film is now available on Blu-ray/DVD.  Add this film to your Oscars movies collection, including the soundtrack featuring score by Golden Globe®- and Grammy®-nominated composer Michael Brook.  Read further to preview the album and more!

FOX SEARCHLIGHT PICTURES presents BROOKLYN, available now on Blu-ray/DVD (get it here) and Digital HD Download (get it on iTunes).

Continue reading Saoirse Ronan Stars In Academy Award Nominated ‘Brooklyn’ Now On Blu-ray/DVD, Own The Soundtrack!