Tag Archives: Ben Lovett

‘The Ritual’ Soundtrack: Ben Lovett on The Music of The Forthcoming Film | Under The Radar

Cinematographer Andrew Shulkind and composer Ben Lovett worked with Bruckner to deliver an atmospheric, psychological thriller that builds to a fever pitch of a finale. – Jason Wilson, Under The Radar


The folks at Under The Radar recently caught up with composer Ben Lovett on his score to The Ritual, the new David Bruckner film which is currently playing in UK and Irish cinemas.  Lovett, whom long-time readers of this blog will know him for his outstanding composition on 2016’s Synchronicity, also served as music editor on this latest project.  “Together, they produced a score that uses sparse synthesizer in its bookending pieces while allowing acoustic instrumentation to accompany the story largely set in the barren wilderness.”  We wait with anticipation for a US release.  Read the full story at Under The Radar

Starring Rafe Spall (The Big Short, Life of Pi), Robert James-Collier (Downton Abbey, Spike Island), Arsher Ali (Line of Duty, Four Lions) and Sam Troughton (Robin Hood, Alien vs. Predator) and directed by David Bruckner (V/H/S). 

Entertainment One presents THE RITUAL, now playing in UK and Ireland cinemas (find tickets).

The Ritual on Facebook

After the death of their friend, a group of old college friends embark on a hiking trip through an unnerving Scandinavian forest.




Throwback Thursday: A Look At Ben Lovett’s Acclaimed Score To ‘Synchronicity’ Tech-Noir Thriller, Cassette Release on April 14!


Lovett’s score is one of the most compelling and nuanced I’ve heard in a long time; and it’s worthy of many repeat listens. – Vehlinggo


On the eve of Ben Lovett’s cassette release to his acclaimed Synchronicity film score, we take a look back at the film and addictive analog synth score.  Jacob Gentry’s mind-bending ‘Sci-fi Noir’ in the tradition of Blade Runner, Gattaca and Memento, stars an ensemble cast: Chad McKnight (The Signal, TV’s “ER”), Brianne Davis (Hulu’s “Casual”), Scott Poythress (Allegiant), A.J. Bowen (The Guest), and Turbo Kid’s Michael Ironside.  

Consequently, the score is a “shameless love letter to Vangelis,” the composer of Blade Runner.  However, the score became its own standalone work of art.  You can’t think of Synchronicity without thinking about Ben’s infectious score.  Ben’s work earned accolades from peers and critics alike, garnering him a Discovery of The Year Nomination at the World Soundtrack Awards.  Certainly one of Lakeshore Records’ favorite releases of 2016, we are pleased to keep the love going through this cassette release via our friends at Megatapes


Synchronicity (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) is out now on Lakeshore Records: [Digital][CD][Vinyl][Cassette]

Magnet Releasing, a division of Magnolia Pictures, presents SYNCHRONICITY, available now on Blu-ray/DVD (get it here) and on VOD (rent it on iTunes).


EXCLUSIVE! Ben Lovett’s Acclaimed ‘Synchronicity’ Score Gets An All-New Cassette Treatment + Giveaway | Vehlinggo

Synchronicity (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) - Ben Lovett on Lakeshore Records

One of Lakeshore Records‘ favorite releases of 2016 is Synchronicity (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)Ben Lovett’s analog synth score to Jacob Gentry’s stylish ’80s-centric time travel film.  The score is out now digitally, on CD and vinyl, and now for the first time on cassette via our partners at Megatapes.  Vehlinggo has debuted the all-new album art by John Bergin, exclusive to this cassette release.  In celebration of this new release, there is a soundtrack cassette giveaway — check it all now at Vehlinggo.

Ben Lovett received worldwide acclaim for his score to Synchronicity, nominated by the World Soundtrack Awards for Discovery of The Year in October 2016.  

Magnet Releasing, a division of Magnolia Pictures, presents SYNCHRONICITY, available now on Blu-ray/DVD (get it here) and on VOD (rent it on iTunes).

Year End Special: Lakeshore Loves Vinyl Spins The Best Soundtracks – Listen!

For the past half-year, Lakeshore Records has been supplying us with fantastic behind-the-scenes podcasts featuring interviews with many different composers talking about their latest work. Hosted by Tony Giles, these podcasts have been a real addition to the web site offering unique perspectives that aren’t often translated through the written word.  – Score Keeper, Birth.Movies.Death

Take a trip down memory lane with Tony Giles (host of The Damn Fine Cast and our Lakeshore Loves Vinyl guru), who spins a curated set of Lakeshore Records vinyl released in 2016 — we may be biased — but boy is this playlist good.  There aren’t enough words to describe all the emotions that go into hearing Tony’s selections from each album.  It’s been a truly amazing year of soundtrack releases at Lakeshore Records and we thank you for sticking by us on this musical journey.  So sit back, relax, and hear the full podcast exclusively at Birth.Movies.Death!

Featured Music: Lakeshore Loves Vinyl 2016 Podcast Playlist
1 KMC014  – Synchronicity
2 Baskin – Baskin
3 Wayward Pines Theme/Suite – Wayward Pines
4 Overture – Anomalisa
5 Four Doomed Men Ride Out – Bone Tomahawk
6 Rustin Parr – Blair Witch
7 End Titles – Don’t Breathe
8 Stranger Things Theme Extended – Stranger Things
9 Bill Harper – Mr Robot
10 Memories – Captain Fantastic
11 Love Crime – Hannibal Season 3
12 Daniel – Camino
13 Prologue/Tuyo – Narcos
14 Don’t Tell Sarah – Swiss Army Man
15 – September – The Nice Guys

Composers Carter Burwell, Mac Quayle, Bear McCreary, Ben Lovett, Nicholas Britell & More Shine At 16th World Soundtrack Awards


Lakeshore Records congratulates Nicholas Britell (The Big Short), Ben Lovett (Synchronicity), Bear McCreary (The Boy, 10 Cloverfield Lane) on their Discovery Of The Year nomination; Bear McCreary and Mac Quayle (“Mr. Robot”, “American Horror Story”) on their Best TV Composer nomination!  We further congratulate Academy Award Nominee Carter Burwell, Joe Kraemer (Mission: Impossible: Rogue Nation) and Jeff Beal (“House Of Cards”), who were honorees at this year’s World Soundtrack Awards!

  • Carter Burwell (Anomalisa, Carol, Fargo) received the award for Film Composer of the Year and Best Original Song For Film: “None of Them Are You” from Anomalisa.
  • Joe Kraemer (Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation, Jack Reacher, Dawn Patrol) was honored with Discovery of the Year.
  • Jeff Beal (“House Of Cards”, “Blackfish”, Appaloosa) was named Best Television Composer Of The Year.

With a special focus on television scores this year, composers Jeff Russo (“The Night Of”, Fargo) and Jeff Beal, among others, took to the stage to perform a selection of their aclaimed scores.

Lakeshore is very pleased to have partnered with these composers on soundtrack releases.   Congrats to all the winners and nominees this year!  See the full list at worldsoundtrackawards.com.