Category Archives: Movie News

‘Stronger’ Soundtrack: Michael Brook’s Score To Jake Gyllenhaal Drama Is Out Now

“Earns every inspiring moment. Stands out from other films of its kind.” – NPR

Gyllenhaal is one of the finest and most intuitive actors of his generation (see Brokeback Mountain, End of Watch and Nightcrawler), and his triumph in Stronger is letting us see a man who won’t let a tragedy define him. – Peter Travers, Rolling Stone


Michael Brook’s latest score is to Stronger, starring Jake Gyllenhaal (Nightcrawler, Brokeback Mountain) and Tatiana Mislay (“Orphan Black”).  Directed by David Gordon Green (Snow AngelsPineapple Express) Stronger is receiving critical acclaim. “Just about everything works.” (Chicago Tribune).

Preview “Amputee” by Michael Brook, which premiered at Cut Print Film.  See track list and more below.

Soundtrack Available Now: [Download/Stream]



Don’t miss the Q&A with Jake Gyllenhaal!



Lionsgate and Roadside Attractions present STRONGER, In theaters Friday, September 22 (get tickets).

Stronger (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Michael Brook

01. Tunnels and Trash
02. I’ll Be There
03. Race Over Boston
04. Out of Breath
05. A Moment of Pause
06. Amputee
07. I Saw The Bomber
08. Sitting On My Leg
09. Sutures
10. Leaving The Hospital
11. You Can Go Erin
12. New Legs
13. I Can’t Do This Without You
14. On Ice
15. Does This Hurt?
16. Leaning On Me
17. Rehabilitation
18. Going Somewhere
19. Taking Steps
20. After Carlos
21. Centered
22. Concession Confessions
23. See Ya Later Patty


94% Rating  – Rotten Tomatoes 

Stronger is a tear-jerking movie that actually earns your tears – Vox

In the past, Gyllenhaal has slimmed down to a skeletal wisp in “Nightcrawler,” and bulked up to play a boxer in “Southpaw,” but here he delivers an equally physical performance without any dramatic transformation.  – Andrew Barker, Variety

Oscar-worthy.  – The Guardian


Wonderstruck: Watch The New Movie Trailer, Soundtrack Coming Soon Via Lakeshore Records


Watch the new movie trailer for Wonderstruck, directed by Todd Haynes and starring Oakes Fegley, Millicent Simmonds, Julianne Moore, Michelle Williams and Jaden Michael.  Stay tuned for more information on the soundtrack release coming soon on Lakeshore Records!

Amazon Studios and Roadside Attractions present WONDERSTRUCK, in theaters Friday, October 20.

Wonderstruck on Facebook


Based on Brian Selznick’s critically acclaimed novel, Ben and Rose are children from two different eras who secretly wish their lives were different. Ben longs for the father he has never known, while Rose dreams of a mysterious actress whose life she chronicles in a scrapbook. When Ben discovers a puzzling clue in his home and Rose reads an enticing headline in the newspaper, both children set out on quests to find what they are missing that unfold with mesmerizing symmetry.


‘Brawl In Cell Block 99’: The Soundtrack To S. Craig Zahler’s Neo ’70s Prestige Grindhouse Flick Is Coming Soon, Features Butch Tavares and The O’Jays

100% Rating – Rotten Tomatoes

The director also serves as co-composer with Jeff Herriott, and the smooth, ersatz-’70s soul songs they contribute — recorded by vintage artists like The O’Jays and Butch Tavares, and heard mainly on car stereos throughout.  – Hollywood Reporter

Thanks to Vaughn’s performance and Zahler’s direction, Brawl in Cell Block 99 is able to walk the line between a down-and-dirty picture and one that genuinely cares about its tragic protagonist. – Collider

From the masterminds who brought you Bone Tomahawk, 2015’s unforgettable cannibal western, comes Brawl In Cell Block 99!  Lakeshore Records will release the soundtrack featuring new and original music performed by Butch Tavares and The O’Jays.  More soundtrack details coming soon.  See below for critics reviews and more.

Directed by S. Craig Zahler, Brawl In Cell Block 99 premiered at Venice Film Festival earlier this month to standing ovation and TIFF this week to critical acclaim.  The film stars Vince Vaughn, Jennifer Carpenter, Udo Kier and Don Johnson.

RJJE Films presents BRAWL IN CELL BLOCK 99, making its US theatrical debut on Saturday, September 23 at Fantastic Fest. 

Continue reading ‘Brawl In Cell Block 99’: The Soundtrack To S. Craig Zahler’s Neo ’70s Prestige Grindhouse Flick Is Coming Soon, Features Butch Tavares and The O’Jays

The Glamour & The Squalor Soundtrack: Mike McCready’s Score CD Hits Shelves on September 29 | Pearl Jam

The Glamour & The Squalor - score by Mike McCready

Mike McCready, the guitarist of one of the iconic bands featured in the documentary, The Glamour & The Squalor, composed the score to the documentary about visionary tastemaker Marco Collins.  As a Seattle DJ, Marco was instrumental in breaking some of the most successful bands in history and bringing the music that defined a generation to the airwaves.  Download your copy of The Glamour & The Squalor (Original Motion Picture Score) — out now digitally, and pre-order the CD before it hits shelves on September 29.  Check out the story at Mike’s band Website, Pearl Jam online.  

Soundtrack Available Now: [Download/Stream/Pre-order CD]


A post shared by FILM MUSIC DAILY (@filmmusicdaily) on



RELATED: Song Premiere: “You’re The Song” Feat. Kim Virant 

Directed by Marq Evans, The Glamour & The Squalor film is available now on VOD (rent it on iTunes) and Digital (buy it here).

The Nick Cave & Warren Ellis-Scored ‘Wind River’ Film Opens in UK Cinemas!

Wind River - Original Score By Nick Cave & Warren Ellis | Lakeshore/Invada Records

★★★★ Movie of The Week – Peter Bradshaw, The Guardian

New York Times Critics’ Pick


Wind River, directed by Academy Award® nominee Taylor Sheridan (Hell Or High Water), made an impressive box office debut in US theaters, and now the acclaimed film starring Jeremy Renner and Elizabeth Olsen opens in UK and Ireland cinemas! See our previous post with more critics reviews and soundtrack details!

Together with Invada Records, Lakeshore Records is thrilled to release Wind River (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), score by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis — available now on all major digital outlets.  Preview the album below.


Nick Cave and Warren Ellis have created the soundtrack for the promising thriller Wind River, and you can now listen to the masterful duo’s latest haunting creation – Paste

Since Ellis began working with Cave, this sense of exactingly careful detailing, always present in Cave’s lyricism, has been extended to his songs’ instrumental arrangements more completely than ever before, and this soundtrack displays his talent in this field to haunting effect.” Line of Best Fit 

“WIND RIVER also boasts some of the most exciting music I have heard in cinema in recent time.”  – Screen Comment


Soundtrack Available Now: [Download/Stream]


The Weinstein Company presents WIND RIVER, in theaters now!